More Georgia teenagers are killed in car crashes than in almost any other state. However, Johns Creek Driving School in north Atlanta now offers a completely free-of-charge class called “Pride” so that parents can help keep their kids safe on the road and behind the wheel. Owner Steve Jones explained on Sept. 30 in an exclusive interview with ventwing.com, “It’s scary when kids hit the road for the first time. ‘Pride’ classes can help alleviate some of the stress involved.”
The Governor’s Office of Highway Safety designed the “Pride” course, which stands for Parents Reducing Injuries and Driver Error. The free two-hour class is designed to help parents and their new (or soon to be) teen drivers, ages 14-16, learn what they need to do during the 40 hours of supervised practice driving time that are required by Georgia law. Parents and students must attend the “Pride” class together and it cannot be applied towards the required 40 hours of supervised driving.
“Pride” is not a hands-on, mechanical “how to” class, but instead it focuses on…
- Helping parents become more aware of their own driving behaviors
- Teaching parents on helping their children become safe drivers
- Altering attitudes and driving behaviors of novice drivers
The best news of all is that “Pride” is absolutely free of charge. “I plan on attending this new course with my 15-year-old,” says mom Karen Hendricks. “I think it’s a great thing that it’s offered and it’s free.”
Johns Creek Driving School will offer the nationally recognized “Pride” course on the following upcoming dates:
- Tuesday, Nov. 5 from 6:30-8:30 p.m.
- Tuesday, Dec. 3 from 6:30-8:30 p.m.
For more registration or to register for this free course, head to the JCDS website. Sister school, Drive Smart Georgia in Alpharetta, also plans to offer the free “Pride” course in the near future.
To receive future articles by Jackie Kass, scroll to the top of this article, and click on SUBSCRIBE. Do you have a story idea? E-mail your ideas to me at email@example.com.